Products
Ideabooks
Discussions
Professionals
Users
Colour for units - ideas please!
gingerclaire
August 13, 2012 in Design Dilemma
Hi, this is my first time on here, so please be gentle. I see that most of the houses on here are in America, but I have something a little different I would like your advice with.

I have a little cottage in Dorset, England. It is 200 years old, and I have been working to turn it back into something a little less 70s/80s than when I bought it.

My question concerns the kitchen. When I bought the property it had a modern factory-made oak-effect kitchen with far too many units for the size of the room, and a dark coloured pine floor (see pictures). The combined effect made the room look very dark and uninviting especially as there was no room for a table. I have redesigned the layout to work better, and I'm happy with the units I have bought.

I have re-floored using local limestone which is a gentle creamy colour, and am in the process of installing a handmade kitchen which I bought secondhand on EBay. I have some off-white subway tiles I will be using for the splash backs in a stretcher-bond pattern, and I am having oiled oak work surfaces (all EBay!). I would like to paint the cupboards, but would welcome suggestions for what colours might work well in a traditional setting like this. I will also need to think of a colour that will work on the walls. I want it all to be restful and soothing without looking too bland!

I would welcome advice and suggestions. I should have some pictures with the worksurfaces, sink and cooker fitted by the end of the week!
Thank you for reporting this. Undo
feeny
Well, you can't get any more classic and traditional than painted white, off white, or cream cabinets.

August 13, 2012 at 12:49pm   
gingerclaire
What about wall colours?
August 14, 2012 at 2:15am   
Kevin Nathaniel
I agree with feeny. Nothing better than those design.. but remember to put extra care with those white because it got dirty easily.