Products
Ideabooks
Discussions
Professionals
Users
Which hood range should I go for?
corina313
September 24, 2012 in Polls
I'm going to remodel my kitchen and its not that big. i had my mind set on a microwave over range but do do the wonderful advice on HOUZZ i changed my mind. i love the wall mount hoods but my Husbands doesn't really like it. I'm undecided on the hood I like the wood one but I'm afraid. How I'm a heavy cook I feel like the wood will get full of grease? So here are 2 options please help me pick!
Plain stainless steel hood?
A square shape wood?
A pyramid shape wood one? So not the best picture but the is some what of the color of cabinets I want?
Thank you for reporting this. Undo
PRO
Roots and Rafters
Definitely the stainless. If you cook a lot, it will be SO much easier to clean than a built-in wood one. The paint/stain on the wood will eventually have baked-on yellow oil that's impossible to get off. Don't ask me how I know.
September 24, 2012 at 11:38am   
feeny
We are extremely happy with our stainless hood. We've had absolutely no problems, and it looks great. But without a sense of what the rest of your kitchen looks like, I voted only on my personal preference.
September 24, 2012 at 11:45am   
PRO
ct design studio
If you do a lot of cooking that involves oil, you will need to be really careful with the wood hood. Indeed beautiful but like Roots mentioned, the oil+heat can bake on over time. Be sure to choose an hood where the filter can go in the dishwasher-genius.
September 24, 2012 at 12:21pm   
PRO
Deborah Butler, Brickwood Builders
Make sure that the cfm is adequate for the range - actually we go on the high side when calculating cfm's for a kitchen. One of the biggest compaints we here is that it is hot around the range and the hood does not work well, particularly if the range is gas.
September 24, 2012 at 12:27pm   
PRO
Reico Kitchen & Bath