powered by
Discussions
Photos
Products
Ideabooks
Discussions
Professionals
Users
I am a designer based in Seattle. I am looking for a metal fabricator and carpenter. Can you give me a reco?
Alanostudio
November 8, 2012 in Photo Questions
Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
PRO
FINNE Architects
Hi,
Thanks for your question about Seattle-area fabricators. For metal work, I recommend 5-STAR Metal, John Lucchesini at 206-706-2754. For carpentry, it really depends on your project, so I will defer on that recommendation.
--Nils Finne, AIA
0 Likes   November 8, 2012 at 6:09PM
PRO
Alanostudio
Thanks for your reply. Juat wanted to tell you: Your work is beautiful and inspriring. Here is what i want to create - may be this will give you some idea for carpentry
0 Likes   November 8, 2012 at 6:24PM
PRO
FINNE Architects
Well, curvilinear or bent wood is always a challenge. Steam bending or dry bending requires experimentation and patience. Prototyping is usually necessary. If you have your own shop, then that is the best route. Otherwise, you can establish a relationship with a good cabinet shop and hopefully they will help you. Bear in mind that this type of work is usually a money-losing proposition for a commercial shop.
--Nils Finne, AIA
0 Likes   November 8, 2012 at 10:07PM
PRO
Alanostudio
i was thinking of using Laminated veneer rather than steam bending...Lets see how it goes..I am meeting a friend of mine who does carpentry onMonday. Thanks for tor your comments. I appreciate your help/
0 Likes   November 9, 2012 at 7:24AM
PRO
VC Studio Inc.
Carlos Taylor-Swanson does beautiful work. He owns Madera Fine Decorative Furnishings, LLC. The shop is in Tacoma. His phone is 253-572-1218. His email is carlos@maderawoodworking.com.
Carpentry can cover a wide range of skills and expertise. Carlos is a real artisan. He still has not set up a Houzz account, but he is connected with me on LinkedIn and we are both part of the Tacoma Design Collective.
I hope that helps,