Products
Ideabooks
Discussions
Professionals
Users
Need help with comments on draft drawings
gladness
November 12, 2012 in Design Dilemma
I am still in the plan drafting stage. Kindly help me your comments and let me know what you think about my draft plan. The house will be built in South Africa.
Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
Laura Zinter
I would move your powder room to the wall between the garage and kitchen. Right now the door being by the front door resembles an entry closet. People will open that door expecting to hang their coats. I'm not a designer and I'm only viewing this on my phone. So I apologize if I'm seeing something that isn't.
0 Likes   November 12, 2012 at 1:25PM
sashik
Hi. This is not knowing your family habits or family size at all, but it looks like no room in the house will be able to get peace and quiet if there is someone in the kitchen, tv room, dining room. The bedroom walls are all shared with these common living spaces.
However the common spaces are spacious and will provide for long family meals and surely can become lovely.
Finally if the weather in S. Africa is as warm as I suspect, you could use more outside space to be connected with your living areas instead of your bedrooms. You will probably need space for meals outside often and currently the patio looks small (compared to your dining room, but I dont know the sizes).
0 Likes   November 12, 2012 at 2:05PM
PRO
Dytecture
I would look at courtyard designs and agree with the lack of public / private separation. The dining room is still awkwardly placed in the center of the house where everyone has to walk around the table to go from one end of the house to the other.
0 Likes   November 12, 2012 at 2:10PM
PRO
Arlene Warda, Architecture+Interior Design
Hi gladness! plans are fine with a few refinements. I put the ideas down for you.