powered by
Discussions
Photos
Products
Ideabooks
Discussions
Professionals
Users
How can I update this chair without paying a professional?
pipsqueaky
November 13, 2012 in Design Dilemma
I bought these two chairs for 11.00 Euros on German Ebay. I love the chair style. The Upholstery and chairs are in prefect condition but they look old fashioned, plus the upholstery ia bit worn in shade. In real the upholstery is much lighter giving it a grand mother look. Does someone have an idea how to do this. the cushions can come off. one seems to have either horse hair or coconut husk in the top cushion and springs on the bottom. Springs seems in tact.

First, should I repaint the chairs to modernize them but have the anqique look? They are not true antiques so I want to bring them up to par a bit. Is this something I can do myself. I have never done anything like this before. But it will cost over 1,000 Euros to reupholster them. I just love these kinds of cane chairs. But they do look drab in real and makes the place look old granny like. I have not put things in place as we have just moved.

What I want to do is pair them with two needle leg 60's rockabilly chairs instead of a couch cuz I dont have room. Thanks for any help I can get. My walls are a dark mint or antique green. thanks. I am also combining in this tiny room 4 chippendale cane back chairs which I want to stain black and modernize them somewhat. I really dont know what to do. I want this style but dont wnat the place to look dated.

Any help at all, even if a professional can give it, will be greatly appreciated. Tks.
Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
mpoulsom