powered by
Discussions
Photos
Products
Ideabooks
Discussions
Professionals
Users
Is revere pewter more of a grey of kacki color?
champ221
November 20, 2012 in Photo Questions
We just bought a house with a grey/red granite in the kitchen and I wanted to use this color throughout the house on the running walls and in the family room and dining/living room since it is a pretty open floor plan. By looking at the BM swatch it looks very kacki but here is looks very grey. Please let me know what your thoughts. This room is absolutely stunning!!
Thank you for reporting this. Undo
PRO
Michael Abrams Limited
Like all colors it changes depending what surrounds it and the lighting in the room. I think it is a very neutral gray. I would suggest trying a few samples on different walls before making the commitment. Best of luck!
November 20, 2012 at 5:50pm     
triciaptak
I am not a designer, but after the past week I fancy myself an expert on grays. I wish someone had told me this to begin with, so here it is for you: there is no "true gray" and picking a color from a photo online will not work, sorry. Take it from someone who tried and tried and tried again (maybe I'm slow)...
With gray you have undertones: purple, blue or green. There are also "greiges" - gray/beige hybrids. Don't forget to include these in your sample testing as well as off-white colors with gray tints. You MUST get a sample of one shade of each and paint them directly on the walls you want to paint in different areas. Wait a day so you can view the samples morning, midday and evening in natural and artificial light. The changing light is so important, as well as the trim, flooring, furniture, neighboring wall colors, etc.