Products
Ideabooks
Discussions
Professionals
Users
Need help with living room
jtshoob
November 28, 2012 in Design Dilemma
Hello. I need help with furniture layout and decorating ideas for our living room. We just moved in and eager to start decorating this space. I provided a sketch of the room and tried many furniture layouts but I’m not good at this. We plan to buy new furniture. We have a piano we would like to keep in the room but are struggling to find the perfect spot. I would like a cozy space (with no TV) that my family can relax and enjoy quality time together. I’m not sure about the burnt orange paint color or shelving by fireplace (nice storage for kid stuff). Any suggestions would be deeply appreciated!
Thank you for reporting this. Undo
standinginline
A couple shades of green would look great against the wood molding, trim and mantel. A medium shade of green on the fireplace wall and lighter shade of green everywhere else (where there is currently gray). Painting above the mantel (example: http://www.greatbigcanvas.com/category/hayslette-max/) ...not sure if the piano would even fit anywhere in here? If it fits on any wall, I would assume it would need to on the staircase wall, but that looks a bit tight with the vent near the floor and light switch, etc.

Personally, I prefer fabric couches slipcovered (for kids). I have two young kids and a slipcovered sectional (for 3 years now) and it works really well for us. For your room, I would think a sectional would be good here, and then i could see two arm chairs near the front windows. Or couch with a chaise on one end and place an arm chair on the other side, away from the chaise. Fabric/leather storage ottomans are great for extra storage.
November 28, 2012 at 2:10pm   
decoenthusiaste