Products
Ideabooks
Discussions
Professionals
Users
Living Room - Coffee Table help!
lindacahn
December 2, 2012 in Design Dilemma
Thinking of purchasing a large, rectangular glass coffee table. But it's 25' inch, meaning it will be several inches higher than the seating height of surrounding chairs. Can't decide it this will be elegant - or perhaps just weird? Picture of room below.
Thank you for reporting this. Undo
defever
I'm not a designer but I don't think the height will be an issue if the table is put where your current one is. Personally, I'd pull everything in a little bit -- the table looks like a long reach from the sofa.
December 2, 2012 at 6:17pm   
Darzy
I think you could be right about being too high. Do you have a picture of the coffee table? What a wonderful room! Do you like the tufted ottoman look? I think your coffee table idea could be a good choice too with the right size.

December 2, 2012 at 6:20pm     
decoenthusiaste
It will look a lot like the end tables, so pull them out like a coffee table and see how you feel about it. Key is to have it be 18" from the sofa so it can be reached by those sitting there yet still leave navigation room.
December 2, 2012 at 6:22pm   
treneil
They height of the coffee table shouldn't be higher than the seat cushions. Further it has to be of a certain scale to match the seating area. The ottoman picture above has great width and height and will make the room look really inviting. Your existing piece is too small for the space.
December 2, 2012 at 6:33pm   
lindacahn
Here are 3 pictures of the possible coffee table - all taken at the store. The pictures aren't very good, esp'ly b/c it's hard to photograph a table made largely of glass.
December 2, 2012 at 6:58pm   
lindacahn
One picture is above, other two below:
December 2, 2012 at 7:02pm   
lindacahn
One picture is above, other two below:
December 2, 2012 at 7:02pm   
Darzy