powered by
Discussions
Photos
Products
Ideabooks
Discussions
Professionals
Users
Need help with design ideas for kitchen remodel.
linda boyd
December 2, 2012 in Design Dilemma
I have a 1925 Georgian colonial in Chicago that I have been remodeling (again) since 2008. All is done except kitchen, which is a galley-style and has an L formed by a butler's pantry. We invested in expensive Corian counters @7 years ago and would like to keep. Counters in kitchen are white with snowflakes and pale green in pantry. Have always thought I wanted white cabinets and white marble backsplash. Contractor is being very flexible which is actually mailing decisions more difficult. Have been looking at lots of photos but need help. Most of remodel has been toward strictly contemporary given that doing so might result in true Transitional given age and style of house. Have used color in various ways in rest of house but want kitchen to be clean, modern and using few elements repeatedly for subtle wow factor since house is near front entrance. Love whimsy in general, but as surprises, not constantly. Kitchen also need new floors to replace original hard maple that cannot be sanded again. Like maple and it feels original, but very willing to change, probably to a very dark stain. Will send photos, but would appreciate immediate feedback, especially reading trends. Open even to most forward thinking ideas. Thanks so much. I LOVE this community and am grateful for all input. LRCB
Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
PRO
Dytecture
Here is one example of white colonial kitchen which has lots of character but contemporary as well.

December 3, 2012 at 6:20AM     
apple_pie_order
You'll get more responses if you post photos of the rooms. Daylight photos are best. Turn on the lights, too, and take photos showing each wall. If you want to keep the Corian counters, include a photo up close, too. Include measurements on a floor plan to get the kitchen designers really interested.