Products
Ideabooks
Discussions
Professionals
Users
Need help with kitchen backsplash!
juliekinal
December 9, 2012 in Design Dilemma
My brand new house/kitchen... Want to put a backsplash in to make it a little more interesting but not sure what to do. I like the look of the mosaic glass/stone tiles and also ones with stainless steel accents, but this is my first time doing something like this and I'm not sure what exactly would look good! Anyone have ideas for me?!
Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
PRO
Deborah Butler, Brickwood Builders
I think a glass or glass/metal mosaic in a horizontal pattern would work well. Just pick up some tones from your countertop. Given that you have the existing 4" backsplash already, I would put the tile only on the back wall - I would not turn the corners with it.
December 9, 2012 at 1:23PM     
catblanc
Subway tile
December 9, 2012 at 2:19PM     
PRO
Dytecture
I agree, subway tiles would be a timeless and versatile option.
December 9, 2012 at 2:32PM     
Elise
First, talk to an electrician to remove the many outlets on the wall and rewire to a plug strip hung at the base of the upper cabinets, behind an undercabinet lighting fixture. Then go look at tiles and decide what designs you like best, if you like glass, ceramic or stone, neutral or colorful.

A small rectangular tile, in a running bond pattern, with alot of whites and tans to bring out the colors in you countertop would look great. Glass tile is very popular, but more expensive than ceramic. This is an easy DIY project if you have the skills. You can also purchase ready-made mosaic patterns in 12x12 sheets to install.

Consider that if you are planning on reselling within the next 5 years, go neutral. If you are planning on staying for longer than that, talk to a designer experienced with tile and think about highlighting your arched doorways and other room features like a fireplace and tying it all together.
December 9, 2012 at 2:33PM     
Natalie