powered by
Discussions
Photos
Products
Ideabooks
Discussions
Professionals
Users
I need help deciding what to do about the echo in my great room. I have 25 ft. of window.
Diana Robinson
December 16, 2012 in Design Dilemma
Do I put window coverings on a 25' window? The ceiling is vaulted, floors are tile. I am re-doing the entire room - sofas, entertainment unit, area rugs, new dining room table & chairs ( with Fabric).
Thank you for reporting this. Undo
PRO
Carolyn Albert-Kincl, ASID
Area rugs on your floor will help. Even using a rug as a wall covering would help. And certainly draperies would help, but if you don't have a sun problem, it seems like a needless expense. Is the view a good one?

There are sound absorbing wallpapers, though I have no experience with them.
December 16, 2012 at 7:24am     
Diana Robinson
yes the view is good, the house has southern exposure, so in the winter we get glare at sunset. I posted some pictures of the room. The house was built in '61 by John Lloyd Wright. It has 4' + eaves. I am renovating the patio too.
December 16, 2012 at 8:43am   
PRO
Dytecture
I would not cover up that fantastic view, but rather invest in either some trellis or extending the roof overhang if possible.

Matthews Exterior

Wine Country Modern
December 16, 2012 at 9:00am     
tsudhonimh
The echo is coming as sound reflects off the large flat, hard surfaces. Anything you do to break up the surfaces and the sound paths will help.

Each thing you do will affect and change the acoustics, so start with the things that you can do easily or would want to do anyway. If you do it all at once you end up acoustically dead and that is not much better.

1 - A rug or more rugs on the floor. Test by placing some blankets where the rug would go.
2 - Books and bookcases (irregular surfaces) and decorative screens.
3 - Fabric hangings, especially if they are an inch or so away from the walls.