Products
Ideabooks
Discussions
Professionals
Users
Are we there yet?
ssrieke
December 19, 2012 in Before & After
Turned a 1955 two colored split level into this....but not sure we are done yet with the exterior. Something still seems wrong. Any comments or suggestions are welcome. Thanks!
Thank you for reporting this. Undo
ssrieke
Before photo house is blue and white. After is orange and grey...
December 19, 2012 at 8:38pm   
Tera Lambert
I don't like the orange, I've never seen orange on a house. Maybe we live in totally different places and that's normal or popular there. I would have to get rid of the orange, but everybody's taste is different. You probably wouldn't like my house color, LOL. I might would change the orange to black, but I'm not an expert or anything.
December 19, 2012 at 9:01pm   
mjlb
I'm impressed -- Great job! On first impression, I really love the color blocking and combination.

Upon reflection, maybe the orange above the garage needs something, but I'm not sure what.
December 19, 2012 at 9:21pm   
Hope Frenette
I think the orang should wrap extend on the other side of the windows so it appears to connect to the orange on the porch facade. It is too isolated alone in the middle of the windows. Just my thoughts.
December 20, 2012 at 4:44am     
PRO
Design Mode
You have really updated your house with the new entry, and added great impact. What a difference.
I think you should paint out the orange above the garage. There is no architectural feature there, and no a reason to draw attention to that area with a bright colour. Your two orange tones at the entry are the focal point, and it's only natural for visitors to want to know where the door is. You have a unique, and cheery entry, and if I was visiting, I would keenly anticipate looking at the interior.
On the rest of the exterior, your colour blocking on the roof, & upper and lower areas creates subtle and interesting contrasts. It all works. (Except that mysterious region above the garage.)