Products
Ideabooks
Discussions
Professionals
Users
How to Modernise & Update Front Aspect Design
jgabbani
December 31, 2012 in Design Dilemma
My husband & I have just bought our first home. Most of the interior has been renovated in a modern/contemporary design which we love, however the outside front aspect of the house was not updated. We would very much appreciate any ideas or input as to how the front aspect can be modernised & updated and are anxious to decide on the necessary improvements as soon as possible & preferably prior to moving into the property. Being first time home owners we are complete novices at renovating a property. Thank you.
Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
PRO
Carolyn Albert-Kincl, ASID
Structural changes are expensive. Paint is cheap (relatively). I'd paint the exterior wall and the white parts of the house's facade with a medium gray paint so that the house looks a bit more serious.
Large clay pots of flowers and greenery would be welcoming on each side of the gate. The exterior lighting and house numbers need updating.

The architects on houzz are going to have to tell you how to correct the rest of it. I'll offer more when you get to the interior. That entry roof line looks like it has lost its columns and is about to fly away.
December 31, 2012 at 8:04PM   
mattysavager
I agree with Carolyn - a new coat of paint can make a world of difference. There's really not too much about the house that 'screams' a certain decade - so you're luckier than lots of us. I hate that teracotta colour on the gable ends personally, and I think that would be good to paint out.

I would consider painting al the bits that are currently white a darker more serious colour (grey, taupe etc) and then paint the trim and the entry ceiling white.

Also consider painting the roof - as it is a big element and teracotta tile colour doesn't always work with your colour scheme.