Products
Ideabooks
Discussions
Professionals
Users
Help With Basement / Man Cave, please
paulsalz
January 5, 2013 in Design Dilemma
First time, long time. I have a basement that I've wanted to do something with for awhile, but can never decide what to do with it. It is long and narrow (about 31 ft long and 11 ft wide) and you enter from the middle. Any help / suggestions would be appreciated. (Oh, and furniture is just willy nilly because I was cleaning for my daughters birthday party.)
Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
caddledia
Greetings to you. I am not a designer or anything, so please take my comments with several grains of salt (hee hee). I am intrigued by your space because I just moved into my home which has a similar basement but with a partial "L" configuration. I would suggest (depending on your budget), keeping the focal wall (the projector and media storage) where it is and possible adding some doors or simple fabric panels to cover the storage that may distract from viewing. Also, if possible, keep the aisle-like seating (for easy access to bar and exit without disturbing others) but use chairs only in this space to give off a theater effect. I would get rid of the couches. Add some small end tables (or even TV trays to save $) to the wall side of each chair for drinks and snacks. Then you fellas have at it!!! Hope this helps.

Try the pic at this link for inspiration: http://www.asapela.com/3-steps-run-finished-basement-ideas-design.html/home-theater-finished-basement-ideas-design
0 Likes   January 5, 2013 at 7:11AM
Nancy Hehmann
I would make some changes that will increase the value of your home 1st. Get someone to drywall your ceiling and make perhaps a storage closet where the electrical box is.
Do you have a theme or what activities do you want in your mancave such as just TV viewing, parties, pool table, air hockey.