Ideabooks
Discussions
Professionals
Users
Thoughts on Fireplace Rock
Atia
January 8, 2013 in Design Dilemma
Hi All,
This is my townhouse. This is the downstairs. I plan on replacing the gray slate around the fireplace with the rock (or something similar) that is placed above the mantel. Should I just replace the slate or should I take the rock above the mantel up the steps of the fireplace? My worry: too busy next to the Sid Dickens Block in the stairway and too busy next to the way too busy kitchen granite and backsplash. I've been agonizing over the granite and backsplash for the past 6 years and think about replacing the the backsplash on a weekly basis. But, I guess that is another post.

Anyway, fire away! All comments, criticisms, and ideas are welcome and very much appreciated.
Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
Atia
A few more pictures...
January 8, 2013 at 10:35AM   
mmilos
I would limit the new tile to just the slate area you have now.
January 8, 2013 at 10:38AM   
PRO
E Jackson Design
Right now your eyes are drawn to the drywall steps over the fireplace. If you can't reframe that, which would be my first chose, please remove the plants on top. It is not a pretty feature so do not draw your eyes to it. Swap the mirror for the picture. Place candle sticks in front. If you still want a painting on the other wall where the mirror is now it should be quite large. Do not put smaller tiles on your fireplace, they will compete with the small scale Sids. Do not tile above.
I know you didn't ask, but you need an area rug.
And yes the tiles in the kithen are very busy, perhaps a travertine 3" x6".
Good luck, Stefanie.
January 8, 2013 at 11:04AM   
patriciarhall