Ideabooks
Discussions
Professionals
Users
Kitchen in 17th century French house
puppyfur
January 10, 2013 in Design Dilemma
Dear Houzzers,
Here is our dilemma. We are lucky enough to have recently moved to France, a long- time dream, into a wonderful, all stone, 17th century house. I have been collecting pictures of kitchens for 6 years, but the reality of our finances is disappointing. So, I am hoping perhaps someone can help us with budget ideas for this amazing room. I was leaning towards repurposed furniture from brocantes and flea markets but I now think it will be too expensive to convert them to hold sink, stovetop, etc. I've looked at Ikea, and really don't like Varde very much, which is the least expensive option. As you can see, the walls are stone and plaster and we have a beautiful fireplace, potager, and etager built into the wall. We know we want a double built in oven(eye level),an induction hob (stovetop), and as much counterspace as we can possibly get, including a large island. We don't want upper cupboards but perhaps shelves, and we want mostly large drawers in the island and counters, rather than cabinets. We are not very handy. The ancient cobblestone floor is uneven. We'd love wooden countertops, but can't afford natural wood for everything else. I will stop now, although I could go on:-). Perhaps someone out there has some wonderful, and affordable, ideas? Thanks in advance for your help.
Thank you for reporting this. Undo
2dogssashatess
Do you have auction rooms over there in France? Maybe you could buy some furniture you could repurpose at auction ( probably cheaper than flea markets). I would also suggest looking for stuff on ebay. You can buy entire pre loved kitchens on ebay but you would need to careful re quality and dissassembling and reassembling. You can also buy NEW kitchens on ebay