Products
Ideabooks
Discussions
Professionals
Users
Window treatment for dinning room
gracezhou
January 12, 2013 in Design Dilemma
This is how our dinning room looked before we moved in. Now it has dark brown-creamy area rug, dark brown reddish dinning table, red tone oil painting on the big wall, etc. would like to add the window treatment ( red panels probably) but don't know how to deal with the upper part of the window. Will it look wired if just leaving it alone? Do you recommend a valance for the square part or just the panels? Thanks a bunch for all suggestions!
Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
bwinn
This is a very lovely space! I am not a designer but what about treating all the windows as one and adding a high rod above the top windows and running long panels down each side? It would be pretty impactful but this is an impactful space.
1 Like   January 12, 2013 at 4:31PM
gracezhou
Thanks bwinn I think that's a great idea. Surprisingly I've never thought about it! Only the panel would be too long (13 feet above) that I'll have to customize it. Definitely an option!
0 Likes   January 12, 2013 at 4:51PM
PRO
Julie Thome Draperies, Inc.
I'm sure there is a big echo in there right now? Agree with bwinn, long and full panels, at least 2 1/2 widths of fabric each, hung on a 2" diameter wooden rod about a foot higher than the high point of the window. Fabric in the drapes and a rug will cozy up the space.
1 Like   January 12, 2013 at 4:57PM
dcer
I agree with Bwinn. You can buy some pretty neutral panels as long as you can find them off the shelf, then sew a strip of contrasting fabric along the bottom to tie in you accent colours, add visual interest, and save money!
1 Like   January 12, 2013 at 4:59PM
PRO
JMittman Designs