powered by
Discussions
Photos
Products
Ideabooks
Discussions
Professionals
Users
Need help - narrow hall/stair - what do you do?
musamango
January 12, 2013 in Design Dilemma
We have this narrow stair as the primary access from bottom floor family room/mud room up to kitchen/living room. It is ugly and I have no idea how to improve it. Pictures below are 1 - looking down, and 2 - looking up. I am a novice at interior work so I've searched through Houzz but can't find anything similar to emulate. Would love some help!
Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
PRO
Lifespan Design
It is hard to tell the age of the home or the architectural style of the living space--is it a log home over a basement? I see knotty pine plank walls and ceiling with 80's style track lighting--what is your favorite design elements of the rest of the home? I would address what is lacking and install a skirt board to protect the walls and add architectural interest to the walls with a paintable textured wall paper that would flow with the rest of the home's design esthetic. Graham & Brown (grahambrown.com) makes wide variety of paintable wallpapers at about $30.00 a roll. If you have never wallpapered this might be a job for a pro--as textured wallpapers are more difficult to hang. Paint over the wallpaper allowing the textures to reflects the light and shadows. I cannot discern the lighting but perhaps a daylight spectrum bulb would also be helpful.
0 Likes   January 12, 2013 at 10:01PM
pcmom1
Can door below be replaced with a glass door to let light in?
1 Like   January 12, 2013 at 10:15PM
Christy -
Love the wood in your upper level! What are your thoughts re: pulling up carpet and painting walls and painting/staining steps? Framed family pics along the wall with railing? Replace light with monorail track lighting? I'm no interior designer so someone else may have better pointers. Best of luck!
Check this out: http://ths.gardenweb.com/forums/load/decor/msg0417285216659.html for an idea.