Products
Ideabooks
Discussions
Professionals
Users
Need help with curb appeal.
tamella
January 13, 2013 in Design Dilemma
I need help with curb appeal. The irregular shaped house needs either an addition, hardscaping or landscaping to make it look nicer. The garage comes out in depth the most and then the front door and then right side of house. The two windows set back the farthest. We are exploring ideas.
Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
jansgirl
Hmmmm. I think your house has quite a bit of curb appeal already!!

I think landscaping with the proper trees/flower etc for your area will make a big difference.Since I am no expert on that, I won't give any advice.

I like the decorative brick patterns above the garage and on the right side of the house. For me, all the white from the garage needs to somehow be balanced on the right side of your home. Perhaps w/ a planting of some light barked trees (?)

Also in your first photo I swear I see hinges and handles on the garage doors but they are gone in the photo of the garage doors. I like that detail. What happened there anyway??!
January 13, 2013 at 5:46PM     
PRO
Studio S Squared Architecture, Inc.
Any way to punch a window in the big gable on the right?

Also, a 36-48" tall garden wall to help define the courtyard would be quite nice.
January 13, 2013 at 5:53PM     
AMN
You definitely need, soft, voluptuous landscaping -- especially in front of the gable bumpout on the right. Maybe find a place for an ornamental tree in the area that would make a nice courtyard.
January 13, 2013 at 6:01PM     
PRO
Level Design Studios