Products
Ideabooks
Discussions
Professionals
Users
Need Advice for Total Renovation
LD Jenkins
January 14, 2013 in Design Dilemma
Small 1930 Bungalow inherited from my hard-working parents that I lovingly call the Buddy & LucyMae Jenkins Estate. Northern Queens (one of 5 boroughs in NYC). Not looking for luxury. Need updated & practical living space. Narrow house with strange, small layout with room to expand into backyard. Ques: Although I know it’s optimum, but do I really need an architect? What about HousePlans.com, etc and hiring a builder/contractor? What about Design-Build Firms? I’ve heard pros & cons about them. Remember, I live in NYC with tons of regulations, codes, restrictions, etc. along with companies us native NYers have learned to be skeptical of. Needless to say I am very wary. I like nice things, but I’m not good at decorating. Not good at conceptualizing design & structure, but I know “it” when I see “it”. Please no comments about the messy upper floor. Just pray for me. Want to have garden in the backyard in memory of my mother and porch on front in memory of my father. Not sure what to do about the colored windows which were built into in the front room in 1930. Not really crazy about them but they remind me of my childhood & mother who liked them. Looking to renovate in next 3 years. Late 2014 is optimum. These are stats of my home:

Building - Dimensions 30 x 25 (750 sq ft)
Lot Size - 40 x 97.42 (3897 Sq ft)
Building area - 1364 Sq ft

Foyer9’ x 10’ 1”
Room off of Foyer(Temporary Closet) 8’ x 9’ 2”
Bedroom 8’ 7” x 12’ 8”
Living Room 10’ 3” x 11’ 6”
Kitchen/Eating area 17’ 10” x 9’
Laundry area 5’7 x 4’ 11”
Bathroom 5’6” x 5’ 11”
Stair Width 1’ 10”
Upstairs Office/Library 10’ 4” x 9’ 10”
Upstairs Open Area 11’8” x 7’
Upstairs Room(used as B/R) 10’6” x 18’6”

Pics are attached. I'm currently poring through Houzz for ideas and advice but would appreciate all of the advice, input & guidance I can get! Thanks!
Thank you for reporting this. Undo