Products
Ideabooks
Discussions
Professionals
Users
help on my living room
honeyjjdb
January 14, 2013 in Design Dilemma
hi guys,i really want my living room bright and homey.can you guys pls help me on what to do here.all suggestion is highley appreciatted and pls show pictures on any idea you guys think would look good.thank you all so much.
Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
kathy
Hi Honey! This is my first time posting, so don't know how it will sound - but here goes!

I think a TV stand that is in better proprtion to the TV would be a big help. By in proprtion, I mean it needs to be longer than the TV is wide. And in case you ever might want surround system make it quite a bit longer, unless speakers will end up hung on walls.

Then a larger rug, so that the 2 sofas will at least have front legs on rug - then it will look like allthe sofas, coffee table are a 'group'.

Small things - bright cushions and throw blanket. More artwork on walls, and hang it lower than what you have done already - again it needs to look like it belongs with the funiture. Maybe a plant or something with height in the corner by loveseat and patio door.

Adding curtain panels or just valances is another place to add colour, pattern, texture (all that design-y stuff!).

Btw - I started with the TV because I've only recently bought myself a stand to replace the one I had that was just like yours! And then my husband said he wanted surround sound, so the stand was no longer quite big enough to hold the front speakers!
Good luck and have fun with your decorating!
2 Likes   January 14, 2013 at 6:54PM
Jacqueline Pestano
Window treatments, and some color the will pop
0 Likes   January 14, 2013 at 7:05PM
Jacqueline Pestano
Green works well with certain colors. For example the window treatments in this bedroom
0 Likes   January 14, 2013 at 7:10PM
Christina Zielinski