Discussions
Professionals
Users
Just moved in about 5 months ago.... Also NEW to houzz
mcaminata
January 14, 2013 in Design Dilemma
Help decorating living room!
Hello Friends,
I posted a picture of my rug last night but unfortunately did not receive any responses. I am new to houzz so I thought I would post again and include more pictures. I Just recently bought a house that is significantly bigger than my previous one so I am having trouble decorating with so much space.
I am looking for advice on:
1.Furniture arrangement-I have two three seat couches and a love seat. Its a pretty big living room and we often entertain so we like a lot of seating. I am married to the two matching couches as they are fairly new. We bought them when we lived in our previous house

2.I am also looking for a color scheme to match my rug I just bought. I feel that the living room is in desperate need of some color.

3.Also advice in decorating the mantle would be helpful

Home d├ęcor is not my strong point so any help or feedback is greatly appreciated.

Sorry that some of the picture in not right side up :(
Thank you for reporting this. Undo
meatpie
Have you thought of painting out the wood paneling or at least just the mantel?? On the mantel I would use a tall, slim vase and either have two, one on each side, or just place items on one side. As for color scheme that rug looks gray and the couches a tan...what about a fun orange and bright blue? Or a bright red or even yellow. Costplus has great pillows that will add some punch to the space. Here is a fun pillow with yellow, orange and blue ... http://www.worldmarket.com/product/white+flower+suzani+embroidered+lumbar+throw+pillow.do?&from=Search