Products
Ideabooks
Discussions
Professionals
Users
Kitchen layout and flow
Nichole Groshek_Shave
January 18, 2013 in Design Dilemma
Please help with our remodel! The current kitchen is ONLY the wall against the stairs. We are looking to enlarge kitchen and use the exterior wall as well. Want a eat-in island for 6 - we are a large family.
Concerns currently are working in the kitchen with refrigerator?
Flow to the guest bathroom - walking around the island - is that a problem?
I'm sure there are other red-flags and hoping to get some expert advise!
Thank you for reporting this. Undo
ldilegge
Im not an expert but I think your island is too large. There's no rule that seating has to be on one side only. Try making it a little shorter, and seating can be on 2 sides. That will give you more room for your fridge and walk space to bath. The bar seems to be in an awkward place. Is that a full wall or counter with beverage cooler under it?
January 18, 2013 at 9:12AM   
onthefence
Am I missing the dishwasher? I don't see one - or room to place one.
January 18, 2013 at 9:31AM   
chluke323
I'm not sure what constitutes an expert, but I think you're right about the placement of the refrigerator. You have a traffic path right through your work triangle, and that's going to make things tricky when you're trying to cook dinner and kids are trying to do homework and their book bags are in the mudroom. It also looks like there is not enough room for anyone coming through the foyer to comfortably get past anyone using the island. How far along are you in the design? Is it still mostly on paper?
January 18, 2013 at 9:39AM   
Nichole Groshek_Shave
Thank you for your replies!!!
The current island is 10'6" long in this design above. If it is shortened does that give better access to the fridge and walk-way? I think it does look better like that. Thoughts?? -Idilegge