Products
Ideabooks
Discussions
Professionals
Users
Refinishing fir to match existing finished trim from 1929
Gillian Hickie
January 19, 2013 in Design Dilemma
We recently renovated the basement of our 1929 home. We now have a staircase and beam (see first two photos) to refinish. We would like them to match the finish of the fir on the main level of the house (see next two photos). Does anyone know if fir was finished in those days by simply varnishing, or would there have been a stain used as well, to bring out the rich red tones?
Thank you for reporting this. Undo
Jayme H.
Is the original trim fir? Asking because different types of wood take stains differently...this can result in a completely different look than what u were expecting...I am not an expert by any means. Have some experience finishing woods and found this out.
January 19, 2013 at 8:25am   
Gillian Hickie
Yes it is original!
January 19, 2013 at 8:28am   
angiesays
I have fir in my 1912 house with the same type basement stairs. I sanded them down (hard work) and got two stains to mix/match the color of the upstairs stain. It's hard to buy a stain off the shelf and get a perfect match. I would opt for stain and then polyurethane in an appropriate sheen to match upstairs (it worked for me.) You might want to put some type of tread or carpet on each step to avoid slippery steps. You can always do a small test area to see what the outcome will be.
January 19, 2013 at 8:59am     
summilux
See how much of the grime you can wipe off with alcohol. if you don't see the natural fir finish, then sand. Watco oil may result in a close match to the last photos and it's really easy to use.
January 19, 2013 at 9:14am   
PRO
Eco Options Hardwood
The red is actually the finish that is old and has patina?
The newly sanded wood would need stain to match. Fir doesn't stain well. You can try poly shades from minwax. Another zero voc option would be Rubio Monocoat. Any color can be achieved with rmc.