powered by
Discussions
Photos
Products
Ideabooks
Discussions
Professionals
Users
Kitchen Backsplash Combination - Do you like it?
piranha123
January 20, 2013 in Design Dilemma
I have also added samples of the granite and cabinet just so you can see if the color combination works. Also what grout colors will work for this?

I love shine and I think the gold grabs attention, but I'm not an expert! Help!
Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
Aja Mazin
Does it glow in the dark?
January 20, 2013 at 10:03AM     
PRO
Interiors International, Inc.
It looks too busy together for a small space like a back splash. Find a tile the same size as the gold that is bright and then use the gold as the ascent strip. You can do 2 tiles wide in the gold. Here is a pic of one done in white and brushed aluminum.
January 20, 2013 at 10:10AM     
piranha123
thank you! this is exactly the kind of stuff I wanted to hear :) Adding a few more pictures (the pic with cabinets is not my home but I have the same cabinets)
January 20, 2013 at 10:17AM   
feeny
Much, much too busy. I agree with others, go for a simpler backsplash, preferably without too much contrast in tile colors if it is a mosaic.
January 20, 2013 at 10:21AM   
piranha123
Thank you. Between the gold mosaic and the diamond stone tile, which do you think looks better?
January 20, 2013 at 10:24AM   
feeny
Gold mosaic. I find the diamond stone tile a bit gaudy and dated looking. While I'm not a big fan of shiny tiles, what I like about the gold mosaic is that it is not high contrast. It presents a relatively unified field. If, however, you wanted to go with a very simple design in 3" or 4" square tiles, or something just a bit lighter with some (but not too much) variation in the color, that would look good too. But I'd go very simple, not that kind of harlequin pattern.
January 20, 2013 at 10:26AM     
feeny
An example of what I mean, using 3" (I think) square stone tiles:

January 20, 2013 at 10:29AM     
PRO
Eagledzines