powered by
Discussions
Photos
Products
Ideabooks
Discussions
Professionals
Users
Do not know how to decorate this OUTDATED dry bar!
tktorre1
January 24, 2013 in Design Dilemma
I am moving into an older apartment that has a mirrored dry bar taking up one wall of the living room walls. I feel like it cheapens the apartment by making it look outdated. There is SO much counter and shelf space. If the mirror were not behind it It wouldnt feel so old. Even if I used it to stock some of my wine bottles and some wine glasses there is SO much more space to be used. Decorations? frames? I am a college student and open to fun or sophisticated ideas.
Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
TanCalGal
Here R some photos http://www.houzz.com/photos/living/dry-bar-

I wouldn't change the outdated dry bar. You'll be out of there in 4 years. If U spend too much time re-decorating, though, U might find yourself on the 6 year plan.... ;)
1 Like   January 26, 2013 at 5:30PM
collettec
Perhaps one possibility would be to use a starched fabric as a "removable wallpaper" on the back of the shelving unit. Some info about that: http://www.thethriftress.com/2011/03/how-not-to-apply-fabric-wallcovering.html
Another option would be to use the shelving as gallery wall shelves to place eg: framed black and white or color prints, photos, etc, along the walls next to each other. Can even stagger by shelf. Eg bar accesssories on base, light books on second shelf, framed prints on top, etc. As well, you might want to look on houzz under shelf decor for ideas.
2 Likes   January 26, 2013 at 5:53PM
PRO
Interiors International, Inc.
I have a similar bar in my condo in FL. I bought some cool Art Deco bar sets.Mixed in really great stemware and Crystal bar glasses. Add to that a good selection of top shelf spirits. Put in a wine rack for those good bottles. Then invite over some friends!
3 Likes   January 26, 2013 at 6:08PM
PRO
Nest Design Inc.