Products
Ideabooks
Discussions
Professionals
Users
I need help with exterior stain/paint colors
lisaswhis
January 26, 2013 in Design Dilemma
The first picture is on the lakeside. We are leaning toward a khaki with white trim, but also want to consider other options including more of a tone on tone palette. Any suggestions?
Thank you for reporting this. Undo
PRO
No Risk Painting
As a painting contractor I personally think a satin or semi gloss white really makes the body color pop. I do think it also gives you a much more traditional look on your home. Best of luck!
January 26, 2013 at 2:48pm   
lisaswhis
Jclark01, would you only paint the existing "yellow" white or would you include other trim ie window trim, etc. ? thanks for your suggestions.
January 26, 2013 at 2:54pm   
PRO
No Risk Painting
More often than not your window trim would also be painted the trim color, but not always. If you have any close neighbors or similar style houses, see how they have treated it. It doesn't mean you have to do what they do, it just gives you a sense as to the local style.
January 26, 2013 at 2:59pm   
PRO
Aegean Designing Whims
I like your idea of a khaki color. Having just read a book called The Old House, it discusses how the lake front houses built in the 1900's were painted natural (nature) colors, like green, to compliment the trees and nature. We just bought a cabin and it's painted an interesting green with some yellow/buttermilk trim along the fascia and an interesting "red" as accent. Sounds crazy, and I'd never thought of that myself, but when it needs to be repainted, I'm going to duplicate it.
I actually like the color you have now, although I can't tell exactly what color it is. It's very calming, and sophisticated. I wouldn't go real crazy or do accents that "jar" the eye.
January 26, 2013 at 3:16pm   
gillianlf
I also like the green and cream above. In what part of the country are you?
January 26, 2013 at 3:22pm   
lisaswhis