powered by
Discussions
Photos
Products
Ideabooks
Discussions
Professionals
Users
Need a professional opinions on what color curtains to buy
julieanmara
January 29, 2013 in Design Dilemma
Hello. I just bought my first home and have no idea what color curtains to buy. I need to dress the front window and the French door. Front faces east and french door faces west so they need to be thick to block out the sun when needed. It's an open plan (the french door is directly across the room from the window) so I want to use the same curtain for both jobs. Should I use a grey color like the walls or a cream (the color of my furniture)? Also, a solid or a pattern? The second picture are my area rugs. Thank you in advance.
Thank you for reporting this. Undo
Lkristine
Well, I am not a professional, but figured I would share my thoughts. You have a beautiful room! Here are a couple of options that you could take a look at. http://www.kohls.com/product/prd-1002249/home-classics-harbor-blackout-window-panel-54-x-84-.jsp In this next link, I think the platinum would look awesome if you want a little pattern. http://www.kohls.com/product/prd-772523/peri-radius-circle-window-panel-52-x-84.jsp This link, I think is a nice compliment to the walls and all of your furnishings as well. http://www.kohls.com/product/prd-c27348/eclipse-round-round-thermaweave-blackout-window-panel.jsp
January 29, 2013 at 6:08PM     
Thank you for reporting this. Undo
julieanmara
I'm in love with the first one! Thank you
January 29, 2013 at 6:13PM   
Thank you for reporting this. Undo
PRO
Meddline_projects
Here you have some good ideas to your room type :

=)

I'm shore each one of them will look amazing, i don't know your taste, so take a look!!
January 29, 2013 at 6:19PM   
Thank you for reporting this. Undo
PRO
Meddline_projects
..or in blue:
January 29, 2013 at 6:20PM     
Thank you for reporting this. Undo
PRO
Cabell Design Studio
Hello julieanmara,

The grey would work if you want a monochromatic room. It would keep it calm and simple. However, when I opened the discussion page and began looking at the pictures, Navy Blue jumped into my head. It would add some boldness while keeping it cool. See a few examples below for inspiration:

Cozy and comfortable family room

Living Room

Another thought would be to introduce some yellow. This would offset the grey and add a strong punch of color. Yellow and grey work beautifully together. Some examples below for inspiration:

Millneck Showhouse

dakota

Velvet Drape, Wheat

Best of luck with your decorating and please let us know if we can be of any assistance,

Elizabeth Cabell, ASID, CID
Cabell Design Studio
January 29, 2013 at 6:26PM     
Thank you for reporting this. Undo
julieanmara
Meddline and Elizabeth, thank you. Are you suggesting I use a totally different blues? The blue accents I'm using are these colors...
January 29, 2013 at 6:42PM     
Thank you for reporting this. Undo
PRO
Meddline_projects
You should use one of them..
so it won't look boring, with everything in grey.. you have such a good taste, i love the pillows you choose so you know how to play with colors!! =)
I was suggesting the black too, because of your furniture, and it gives an intimistic ambiance but if are going to something dark you can choose a dark blue..
January 29, 2013 at 6:57PM   
Thank you for reporting this. Undo
Nicole Sauve
I think something with dots to mimic your chairs. p.s yellow and navy blue sound great
January 29, 2013 at 7:00PM   
Thank you for reporting this. Undo
Lkristine
If you are up for more color, I would stick with the existing accent color you have in the room. In this picture I would choose the pattern on the very top left. You would probably need to have them lined to block light though.......http://www.etsy.com/listing/120878570/sale-drapery-panels-premier-prints?ref=sr_gallery_11&ga_search_query=turquoise+curtain+panels&ga_view_type=gallery&ga_ship_to=US&ga_search_type=all
January 29, 2013 at 7:07PM     
Thank you for reporting this. Undo
PRO
Interiors International, Inc.
Lkristine has a great idea that is exactly the way I would go. Bringing in the blue/green will add style and drama to the room. Much more than a grey or cream could ever do.
January 29, 2013 at 7:11PM     
Thank you for reporting this. Undo
PRO
Meddline_projects
Don't forget:

black or white curtins goes with everything

so if one day later you can change the pillows and the little details to others in other colors you will be free to do it, and you can have a different room every season, or whenever you get bored!
that's my advice.

Have fun!

=)
January 29, 2013 at 7:13PM     
Thank you for reporting this. Undo
Lkristine
And here is a link that may help you decide with what length.......sounds like you may need to open and close frequently, so this may help........
http://www.ehow.com/info_8280644_proper-length-panel-curtains.html
January 29, 2013 at 7:34PM   
Thank you for reporting this. Undo
Tracy Taylor
I think you should go with a pop of color~ Use one of the blues in a fun pattern. These are at Horchow and West Elm
January 29, 2013 at 7:45PM     
Sign Up to comment
Related Discussions
Need professional opinion regarding curtains
I'm thinking of using the same curtains (a yellow)...
Need professional opinion regarding curtains
I'm thinking of using the same curtains (a yellow)...
Need a professional opinion...
Please help...my husband and I fell in love with the...
Need a professional opinion on island lighting
I have a 54 inch long by 26 wide kitchen island. Do...
More Discussions
Finishing touches
I recently purchased a new sofa and chairs, a painting...
Please help for my living room
Looking for suggestions on what to do with this living...
Displaying objects in small home
Small house...and I am a collector! By small...1400...
Proper length of sofa table behind a 104" wide sectional.
Hi. So happy and grateful to have found this source...
The content on this page is provided by Houzz and is subject to the Houzz terms of use, copyright and privacy policy.
Copyright claims: contact the Houzz designated agent.