Products
Ideabooks
Discussions
Professionals
Users
Should I paint my ceiling black???
Noz Nozawa
February 5, 2013 in Design Dilemma
I've been dreaming of painting my ceiling black for 6 months, but am not sure if it's too much for my smallish condo with 9-foot ceilings. It's pretty modern with a soffit around 60% of the walls, so I'm also not sure if crown moulding works in the space.

I've photoshopped black ceilings for you to make a call. Should I? Should I????? Thanks so much for your input!
Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
Aggie Purvinska
Yes, but paint the walls white. no crown molding.
3 Likes   February 5, 2013 at 2:22PM
Noz Nozawa
Hi Aggie, thanks! I would want to keep the walls black -- my idea is to make the space all-black by painting the ceilings!! Would you say no crown moulding if ceilings AND walls were black?
2 Likes   February 5, 2013 at 2:23PM
Monica Ellison
Your home is beautiful! I agree with Aggie, if you paint the ceiling black, lighten up the walls. I prefer the black walls with the white ceiling.
2 Likes   February 5, 2013 at 2:25PM
Aggie Purvinska
Were you thinking of white crown molding? I think, no.

But before you go all black, I would also play with some kind of Mother of Pearl Version of Gray...on the ceiling
3 Likes   February 5, 2013 at 2:26PM
ruthmand
You have a very modern looking space - no crown moldings, please.
3 Likes   February 5, 2013 at 2:36PM
cypress
Your condo looks fantastic! I would not add crown molding to this space regardless of the colors you choose. If you have been dreaming of black ceilings for such a long time......then go for it! Worst case would be you would have to repaint. Good Luck.
1 Like   February 5, 2013 at 2:37PM
lefty47