Products
Ideabooks
Discussions
Professionals
Users
Off Centered Fireplace...Please Help!!
hmcclung
February 8, 2013 in Design Dilemma
I am a new wife in a new home and have a major design dilemma!! I struggle enough with decorating as it is. Tackling this beast is going to be the hardest. Painting the fireplace is not an option. There is only one nail in the brick - completely centered....no more nails an option. PLEASE help me figure out what to do on the mantle!! This obviously is NOT working. I'm new to Houzz and looking forward to your support! xoxo
Thank you for reporting this. Undo
PRO
Dytecture
I would try removing the items on the right side of the photo and there is nothing wrong with leaving that space empty. Also consider adding some color accessories in larger scale.

February 8, 2013 at 5:13AM     
handymam
That's a nice pic, dytecture! Sometimes less is more.

If anything, I think if you remove the little lanterns etc, it will be better. I like the mirror, but the little things get lost among the strong lines of the fireplace. It is bold and the accessories you have are dwarfed by the scale. I think a nice large, living green plant, like a boston fern may soften the lines too if you remove all but the mirror, and place the plant on the bottom right, in the center of the brick part.

A fireplace screen would clean up the look in the fireplace too. Something black or craftsman glass with black trim.
February 8, 2013 at 5:28AM     
Jennifer Bruce
I would probably replace the oval mirror with a rectangular one. Also, have you thought of hanging your fplace tools to the right, directly in the brick? Also, flanking the fireplace with tall ornaments, probably like the grassy plants in above pic. I agree to the screen. Then, if you wanted, you could leave the wood box in the bottom, move your lanterns up top, and add to them, as a little collection up there maybe?
February 8, 2013 at 5:45AM     
carole
have nothing to add,just thought i'd put it in pict.