Products
Ideabooks
Discussions
Professionals
Users
Here's my layout
Sadiesammie
February 8, 2013 in Design Dilemma
We are building a home this spring. We designed our layout ourselves without the help of a professional. This is the rough draft. I also have a program on my computer that is helping me get the plans in better order (chief architect). This is just the drawing that We've sketched out that's easy to erase and trust me when I say I've done a lot of that.

A few people on here wanted to see our plans, so here it is. Have at it!

If you have any questions, feel free to ask! And your opinions are welcome!

I can take constructive criticism as this is my first time building, but please don't be rude about it. Thanks!!

Oh and one last thing, I am hiring professional contractors to build my home.
Thank you for reporting this. Undo
PRO
Dytecture
I like the simplicity of the plan. The only thing that stands out is the hallway that separates the kitchen from the bedroom areas, it seems like wasted square footage. Consider looking at ranch styled floor plans online to see how the public and private areas are defined.
February 9, 2013 at 5:46am     
janishill
Here are my thoughts: Dytecture has a valid point about the hallway being a waste of space. I also wonder about the hall closet. Wouldn't it be better to have the door in the laundry room?

And the little cut in to get to the MBR door. If you are going to have the door there why not put the door to BR#2 opposite it? Or the space could be used as a coat closet with th eentrance to the MBR next to it.

:-)
February 9, 2013 at 6:11am     
orangecamera
I like janishill's suggestion about the door for BR#2 being opposite the MBR in the alcove. And if you move both of those bedrooms and everything to the left of them over by about 2 feet, you'll gain room for a coat closet in your front entry. You'll also get 2 more feet in the width of the living room.