powered by
Discussions
Photos
Products
Ideabooks
Discussions
Professionals
Users
Help! I am not sure how to add color to my dark living room!
veronicajuly
February 9, 2013 in Design Dilemma
I “inherited” my living room set from my boyfriend when we moved in together. He refuses to sell it so I am stuck with it! I am just getting started and I end up returning everything (toss pillows and rugs) because it just does not free right. I am looking to add some warmth by incorporating rust, tan, and merlot accents. Is that the best idea for this dark furniture set? Any ideas???!!! The last picture is artwork hanging in the nearby kitchen that I would like to use for inspiration. Any help is GREATLY appreciated!!!! P.S. The cute doggie will stay :-)
Thank you for reporting this. Undo
phchatham
Maybe take the colors out of the picture and put them in a huge rug to go under the ottoman and carry the reds and creams and yellows to scatter cushions as well :)
February 9, 2013 at 9:32pm   
decoenthusiaste
The picture works best for the kitchen, but the colors could brighten your room. Try yellow curtain panels hung floor to ceiling and some pillows to match. If you can paint, try BM Lemon Sorbet and replace the ceiling fan with a great drum pendant.
Yellow Decorator Pillow Covers By ElemenOPillows
Lemon Yellow Outdoor Pillows
Heather Garrett Design
paint A Lifestyles Project
February 9, 2013 at 9:41pm   
PRO
Welcome Home designs

I would suggest that your first purchase be a fun,contemporary area rug.
Once that is decided then you can chose your accent colours and art.
February 9, 2013 at 9:52pm     
Nancy McFalls