Products
Ideabooks
Discussions
Professionals
Users
I need help planning a kitchen remodel.
bluvelvet222
February 11, 2013 in Design Dilemma
We recently bought a house built in the 50s that will eventually be a complete remodel. The most pressing is the kitchen. It has not been updated since it was built except for the tile flooring. We plan to have hardwood floors put down and lose the awful paneling for painted drywall. The cabinets are painted pine and will be torn out along with everything else. Hubby and I have lots of DIY experience and will do painting, caulking,etc. We will have someone install the cabinets and we both like a medium cherry finish. I am stuck on where to start beyond gutting the place which starts today. All help is appreciated!
Thank you for reporting this. Undo
PRO
The Virtual Designer- Kitchens & Bathrooms
Hello- If you could post a dimensioned floorplan, that would very be helpful. Also, what would you like out of your new kitchen....and island, seating space etc etc. I purchased our present home about 3 years ago and the kitchen looked very much like yours and I had the same dilemma. In the end, I created a longer kitchen with an island bench after eliminating the tiny (and useless) dining area that adjoined the existing kitchen. We were able to use the island for informal eating/meals. Are you interested in opening up your space as well? Are you able to do so?
February 11, 2013 at 4:20am   
PRO
Dytecture
I agree, start if a floor plan if you haven't done so already. Then try to configure a kitchen that works for your lifestyle.
February 11, 2013 at 5:57am   
bluvelvet222