powered by
Discussions
Photos
Products
Ideabooks
Discussions
Professionals
Users
Updating kitchen; need ideas for countertop, backsplash,etc. Please suggest something I haven't thought of yet
fuzinav
February 13, 2013 in Design Dilemma
The cabinets in my kitchenare hickory. I like traditional, but I never liked the colonial blue formica countertop so I am ready to change. I am an avid cook. The room sees a lot of use and there doesn't seem to be any way to make it any bigger! White surfaces are out because I think they are too hard to keep clean. I don't like tile for the same reason. Elsewhere I have a lot of blue and white with red and yellow as well. I like black lacquer as well. My design dilemma: countertop color,is black too severe?, is a mid tone better? Backsplash; same as counter and just a few inches (sim. to current) or higher and contrasting? Any ideas for the over the sink span? The wavy board conceals the light but I don't like it. What about phone and electric cords, any ideas how to hide them?
Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
fuzinav
the other wall
February 13, 2013 at 10:05AM   
PRO
Liza Jane Interiors
Because you have black appliances, I would not use a black countertop. Perhaps a granite with black/tan/white in it. I would remove the wavy board and have the proper underlighting pucks installed. Depending upon the granite you choose, will determine the type of back splash tile. I always prefer using neutral colors in tile and punching up a space with color on walls or accessories. A lot less expensive that way!
February 13, 2013 at 10:11AM     
PRO
Liza Jane Interiors
Also, if you are going to have new counter tops installed have them take the counter all the way to the edge. You can always have a pull-out installed for your trash cans.
February 13, 2013 at 10:12AM     
PRO
Design Find