Products
Ideabooks
Discussions
Professionals
Users
Keep the ceiling off white, or paint to match wall
diyher
February 14, 2013 in Design Dilemma
The first is right before I started painting, I was testing the color from a test jar of Behr paint.

The 2nd is when I am almost done, but.... am trying to figure out if I should keep the cathedral ceiling off white, or same color as the 3 walls.

Window Wall :Behr - Mushroom Bisque
Other walls: Behr - Plateau

Should I keep the ceiling the off white or paint it the Plateau color?

The drapes and cellular shades are new this past couple weeks.
It's a very sunny room, Southern exposure
Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
movethisnotthat
I have seen both ways, seems newer construction paints the ceiling to match the wall color.
oh... can you return the drapes and buy longer ones, they would look better hung higher (up to the ceiling ) and outside the edges of the windows, not sure the valance is needed if you are "updating" your room.
Just a thought ! Love the vaulted ceiling in your space. Nice color BTW
February 14, 2013 at 8:43AM   
diyher
the curtains are actually outside the edges of the window by 3 inches each side. The window is 19 inches deep.
The side walls are 9 feet 6 inches. The curtains there now are 84". I didn't really want to take the rod to the very top since I wanted to use the valance to cover the rods.
Also wanted to avoid the drapes touching the floor with 96"
I might do what I did in the past, and during Summer months, only use the valance, but this time we have the shades so it will help with hot sun and any window drafts
Why would valances be "out dated" if you can still buy them everywhere?
February 14, 2013 at 8:58AM   
Cornelius Vanderheide
I personally, do not like curtains hung to ceiling or laying on the floor, I'm to old to keep lifting drapes off the floor to dust, and strAIGHTEN ALL THE TIME. i ALSO LIKE THE IDEA OF REMOVING DRAPES FOR THE SUMMERY LOOK OF JUST THE VALANCE.