Products
Ideabooks
Discussions
Professionals
Users
Need Ideas, Suggestions...
goosesix
February 15, 2013 in Design Dilemma
Just recently purchased this home that belonged to my late Grand Parent's and I pretty much need to update every room. Top priority is the kitchen and the living room-see photo's. As you can see for both rooms I will be dealing with wood paneling, and the living rooms back wall is brick. I want to paint the paneling and brick to lighten up the living room and put hardwood flooring down where you currently see, (I don't even know what color to call the carpet), but it is coming out. For the kitchen I'm looking at the same concept with the painting of the walls and cabinets. Want to replace the countertop with grayish granite or marble?? I am new to this site, but have seen some pretty good recomendations so far and would greatly appreciate the suggestion's!
Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
Jayme H.
I am not a marble expert, but have read it stains easily and requires some upkeep. Painted paneling will look good...Are u leavint the built in shelf in living room? Or are u going for a more contemporary look on the fireplace wall?
0 Likes   February 15, 2013 at 10:09AM
goosesix
Plan to keep and maybe later build a 2nd for the right side to match it up across the whole wall. Thanks for the tip on the marble, I'll look into that.
1 Like   February 15, 2013 at 10:15AM
Jayme H.
pics of painted brick..may be interesting to paint the built in a color..?
3 Likes   February 15, 2013 at 10:19AM
PRO
Barbara Griffith Designs