Products
Ideabooks
Discussions
Professionals
Users
Size of painting above couch
Corey Marsh
February 17, 2013 in Design Dilemma
I purchased a painting that I love to go above my new couch. The canvas is 1/2 the size of the couch, which I had read is the minimum size for an over-the-couch painting. My gut feeling is the painting looks too narrow. Thoughts?
Thank you for reporting this. Undo
despinach
I think it does look too narrow...or too square.... A smaller photo or painting on each side of it could give the space some balance. I suggest you try to make it work and not replace it, because it's beautiful!
February 17, 2013 at 12:48am     
Corey Marsh
Thank you. This is my first time decorating, so I really have no idea what I'm doing. Would adding a photo or painting on each side look too crowded? Also, what kid of photo or painting would be appropriate next to an abstract painting like this?
February 17, 2013 at 12:50am     
aishafawad
i think so u should have one picture in rectangular shape
Urban Apartments
or above suggestion is also good if u remove that painting above the fireplace then it will not look too crowded
Contemporary Living Room
February 17, 2013 at 12:57am     
despinach
When I first saw the photo, I thought of empty frames around your painting. They wouldn't attract attention from the painting, just complement it. But I know they don't all like them. Black&white photos are also always welcome and would keep the masculine feeling of the room.
February 17, 2013 at 1:02am     
Corey Marsh
Despinach, what kind of B&W photos would complement the painting pictured?
February 17, 2013 at 1:04am   
Corey Marsh
So you don't think putting two B&W photos of Paris landscape will clutter the area? I'm having a hard time imagining what pictures on each side of the photo would look like.
February 17, 2013 at 1:10am   
despinach