Products
Ideabooks
Discussions
Professionals
Users
Need help on decor for office/living/studio space
Christine Curry
February 19, 2013 in Design Dilemma
I am smack dab in the middle of changing my formal livingroom into a usable office/studio space. I am a photographer and my space is perfect to have newborn photoshoots in because I have a huge window that lets in tons of natural light during the day. I'll be sliding furniture out of the way, so I don't plan on a coffee table or anything like that, but I will be keeping the twin russet loveseats that are already in there, and adding a desk w?hutch and a filing system. My husband isn't on board with transforming the room into a "work space" so I need to keep it looking more "homey" rather than studio.

The entryway to my house is burnt russet/orange (not sure of the real name of the color) and may walls are a cocoa color. My flooring is aggregate epoxy and I pulled all the colors from there. I wanted a change, introducing more gray/turquoise into the formal livingroom space (which is the one being transformed more into an office space). I'll be repainting all the taupe areas in my hallway & entryway to gray/taupe rather than the brown cocoa it is right now.

I had the livingroom repainted this weekend, and although I like the stripe well enough, I don't think I'm sold on the color. To me the light gray (Nickle Back by Kelly Moore) is too blue. I planned on having floor to ceiling grommet style drapes in either white or turquoise.

The carpet is being replaced with dark wood and a 5' white baseboard. And I'm accenting with chrome & "maybe" black. The problem?? Now I'm stuck.

I love dramatic rooms, I'm not afraid of color, per se.. but how do I tie all of this in? (The orange that you can see is the entryway. Sorry for the photo, I was hosting a baby shower, it's the only pic I could find that showed the decor I'd like to tie in.)
Thank you for reporting this. Undo
PRO
ASVInteriors