powered by
Discussions
Photos
Products
Ideabooks
Discussions
Professionals
Users
Adding Life to my Living room on a tight budget!
emilykow
February 20, 2013 in Design Dilemma
Hi I am a Masters student living in a rented condo- my living room is depressing- rug is beige, walls are beige, couches are cream. Because I am renting I can't paint the walls or do much modifications and being a student, I have a tight budget too. I am desperately seeking advice and inspiration regarding ways to add colour to this area- I've looked at pillows and artwork and just am not inspired by anything. Could someone with some design/decor advice please help! Looking at the picture you can see I have 2 cream couches and a beige papasan chair. Thanks in advance for any help!!! (ignore the cat toys ;-)
Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
Diamondflame
I know he feeling; I've been there before. You can really do a lot with that space, and with a modest budget too. Some options to look at: -

1. Figure out a color palette that goes with beige/cream and you're half-way there. Maroon for warmth. Or turquoise for nautical touch? Perhaps 'eggplant' if you prefer? But whatever you do, stick to one color to partner the beige. Shades of this color is fine though. Work this new color into your space by adding fabric throws and patterned cushions in the same complimentary color.

2. Source for black and white posters - they are cheaply available and add life to those blank walls. Complement these by adding black and white accessories in the room: book, chest set, etc.

3. Scour the flea markets for an ottoman of equivalent visual weight as your sofas to double as coffee table and anchor the space. A dark area rug in interesting geometric patterns work too.

4. Pull that 2.5 seater off the wall, place a narrow console behind it to display artifacts, toys(?) and a matching pair of table lamps.