powered by
Discussions
Photos
Products
Ideabooks
Discussions
Professionals
Users
Pation privacy wood screen - what wood to use?
kesler_f
February 21, 2013 in Design Dilemma
Another question for the expert builder here.
I'm a homeowner/ architect and DIY. So i want to build a wooden privacy screen to serve as a backdrop to my patio. But I’m having trouble finding information of what wood is best for this exterior application. Or is it a matter of water sealing the any wood.
The picture I found here is the basic idea.....wood planks of different stains supported on wood vert. columns. Any info on the wood and tips for doing so?

Thanks!
Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
PRO
Terri Symington, ASID
A current project I am working on required me to design a fence for the landscaping which is a combination of an 6' privacy with an 18" 2x2 picket on top. The contractor building the fence recommended a combination of materials...for the pickets he said we should use a cedar because it will not warp or twist like the treated pine. You may have a similar situation with your battens. To save on cost he is cutting the pickets himself from 2x12 boards.
0 Likes   February 21, 2013 at 3:08PM
PRO
Creations Nadia Interior Design
Cedar is the best, you can stain with oil based Sikkens product - has very good shades and very durable:))
0 Likes   February 21, 2013 at 5:19PM
PRO
Revolutionary Gardens
cedar or redwood. If you use basic pressure treated pine you'll get some pretty spectacular twisting and warping on a fence of that design.
0 Likes   February 21, 2013 at 6:33PM
PRO
Duxborough Designs
I have had good results using PT SYP with Cabots Australian Timber Oil. Everyone thinks it's teak and does not warp out or crack too much if you keep up the finish. Try to get the oil based ATO - may be discontinued and water based is not the same.
0 Likes   February 21, 2013 at 6:52PM
printesa
How about redwood or ipe?
0 Likes   February 21, 2013 at 6:58PM
kesler_f