Products
Ideabooks
Discussions
Professionals
Users
Help to update a traditional living room
sruggi
February 23, 2013 in Design Dilemma
I am new to Houzz and volunteered to help my hardworking daughter get advice on updating her traditional Connecticut living room. Her furniture is a mix of new, inherited and estate sale pieces that she would like to use. She has some rolls of silk moire wallpaper that she loves, and would like advice on how to use it. Her ideas are to accent the fireplace wall (which will be sheet rocked) or above wainscoting which her husband can build. The valance will be removed and she is open to new drapery if the floral does not work. She also wants advice on wall and trim color (BM only), fabric to reupholster the wing and round back chairs, furniture and accessory placement.
Thanks in advance for the help.
Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
Judy M
I'm bumping your post back to the top, so hopefully you'll get more replies.
February 23, 2013 at 1:55PM   
sruggi
Thanks Judy!
February 23, 2013 at 2:09PM     
carole
is the bleu the silk moire wallpaper??and is she considering changing the red out?i would take away the flowered fabric,the cushions on the sofa are much nicer,and with lighter walls i think this room will look great as it is!!
February 23, 2013 at 2:31PM     
sruggi
Yes, she is definitely changing the red. The swatch on the sofa is the wallpaper. There is not enough to do the entire room unless they do wainscoting. I was suggesting just the fireplace wall after they do the sheetrock. She does want to go lighter on the walls, and coordinate new upholstery on the chairs.
February 23, 2013 at 2:50PM     
Denice Shuty
Moire - not with paneling. I think that would look "old hat".
February 23, 2013 at 2:58PM   
sruggi
The paneling will be removed.
February 23, 2013 at 3:02PM   
carole
would look lovelywith wainscoting and the bleu,and would only re-upholster the red chair!!
February 23, 2013 at 3:44PM     
Denice Shuty